My adventure down under

Tassie tour

Hi y'all!

Tuesday morning my alarm went off at 3am, my taxi would be there around 4am so I would be at the airport in time for my flight to Hobart. But before we eldhad even left my street, I had lost my phone. We went back to my house, where I looked on the grass and in the back of the car, bit I couldn't find it. When I decided to check under my bag, I found it... It had fallen behind my bag. I had booked my taxi quite early, just to make sure I would have enough time, so I was still in time for my flight. My flight landed in Hobart at 7.45am, so I had the rest of the day in Hobart. I dropped my backpack at the hostel and went to the harbour, there were still some yachts from the Sydney to Hobart race. I got some breakfast and after I finished I went to the Tasmanian museum and art gallery. Almost the entire museum was about the Aboriginals, which was really interesting. After I had walked around the museum for about two hours, I could finally check in at the hostel. I decided to lay down until Kayleigh would arrive. After a bit of delay with her plane and shuttle bus, she finally arrived. We went to a food market; Taste of Tasmania. We walked around Hobart for a bit until we decided to go to bed since we would have to wake up at 6.30am the next morning.

Tassie tour

Day 1:

Wednesday morning, our tour guide picked us up at our hostel at 7.45am. We had to pick up a couple of other people before we went to Mt. Field. We walked trough the rainforest until we got to the Russel Falls, a really high and beautiful waterfall. After that we drove to Lake St Clair where we had lunch at the pier. It was a gigantic and beautiful lake. After everyone had had lunch, we drove to Donaghys Hill. We walked to a viewing point and it was amazing. You could see a open field, which was created by Aboriginals, the park rangers keep burning this field down in memory of these Aboriginals. After this, it was time to drive to our hostel. We had a barbecue with the entire group, which was lots of fun.

Day 2:

Thursday started with a three hour walk through the rainforest, to get to the highest waterfall in Tasmania. The walk was definitely worth it, the waterfall was amazing! On our way to our lunch stop we had a quick stop at a viewing point, from where we could see the ocean. We had lunch in a town (Strahan) where it seemed like time had stopped. After lunch we drove to the Henty Dunes. We had to climb all the way up, but the view was amazing! We all jumped down the dunes for a while, which was lots of fun:) We went back to our hostel and put on our swimming suits, after that we drove to the lake, where we went for a swim.

Day 3:

Friday morning we had to wake up around 5.30am, because we were going to Cradle Mountain. Half of the group decided they didn't want to walk all the way up, so they would do the walk around the lake. Kayleigh and I did want to walk to the lookout, so we had to walk up the mountain for about an hour. It was really hard, especially since it started to get warm quite quick. But we made it:) and the view was amazing! On our way back to the bus, we passed the wombat pools, and we saw something move in the water. Our tour guide thought it might have been a platypus. After Cradle Mountain, we had a honey tasting and a salmon tasting. When everyone was finished we drove to our hostel in Launceston.

Day 4:

Yesterday we started the day with a cheese tasting. After that we drove to Bay of fires, where Kayleigh and I walked to the other end of the beach, to get some nice pictures. At the end of the day, when it started to get dark, we all went to the beach to see the penguins. We saw quite some penguins from up close.

Day 5:

Today started with the beach, where we stayed until around 11am. After that we drove to Wineglass Bay. We walked to the lookout, where we had an amazing view of the bay. It was really warm and since we still had time, we went to a little beach just down the road. When everyone was back at the bus, we drove to a berry farm, where I had lavender ice cream.

I'll try to upload my pics in the next few days.

Cheers!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!