My adventure down under

Great Ocean Road & Phillip Island

This Monday me and the girls stayed at home, we did some painting and we made perfume. At 15:15 the girls had swimming class, which was a nice way for them to cool off on this warm day. Tuesday the girls were quite tired, they played with their Lego and for dinner we had pancakes :).

On Wednesday Bella went back to her old preschool, which had been renovating it's roof during the past couple of months. While the girls were at their schools, I was packing my backpack for my trip to Melbourne. The next day I brought the girls to their schools and went into Chatswood to get a recharge for my data. When I got back, I triple checked my bags and went to pick up the girls.

Around 19:40 Jeff brought me to the airport and showed me where I had to go. When I arrived at the airport, Kayleigh was already waiting for me. We walked around the airport for a bit, but soon went to our gate. We landed in Melbourne at 22:25 and booked a ticket for a shuttle bus that would bring us to Melbourne CBD. From there we got an uber who brought us to our hostel. By the time we could go to bed it was already around 1:30. We had to get up quite early the next day, since we were going on our Great Ocean Road Tour. The bus picked us up at our hostel at 6:50. First we drove all the way to the 12 apostles, where we could take some beautiful pictures. After that we went to an amazing bay nearby, we stayed there for 45 minutes. We drove to Gibsons steps, where we had our afternoon tea with an amazing view of the ocean. After we finished our tea and took some pictures, we started driving towards a rainforest. On our way there I kept looking at the trees, trying to spot some koalas and I found one! We went for a walk in the rainforest and it had one of the tallest trees in the world! After the rainforest we drove along the coast and we spotted lots of dolphins jumping out of the water and I even saw a whale! During this coast ride we passed a camping, where we stopped for a bit to spot some koalas. There were a couple of koalas sitting in the trees between the camping guests. At the end we drove to Apollo Bay where we had some pizza and from there we drove back to Melbourne.

Yesterday we were going on the Phillip Island tour. They were going to pick us up around 11am, so we had some time to kill before our pickup. We decided to go to the Queen Victoria Market, which was lots of fun, we also got some 'poffertjes' before we went back to our hostel for the pickup. Our first tour stop was at Maru koala and animal park. We got some kangaroo food which we could feed to the kangaroos and wallabies. That was one of the most amazing things I've ever done in my life! After about an hour we drove to Phillip Island, where we went to Cape Woolamai, the beach there was amazing, unfortunately it was pretty windy. We drove a bit further and got to Pyramid Rock, where we saw some wild wallabies. Kayleigh and I were the first ones out of the bus, and while we were walking to the lookout, we spotted something in the water. At first it looked like two dolphins, but as we were getting closer it looked more like a whale. I used my camera to zoom in as far as possible on the whale and took quite some pictures. But as I was taking a look at the pictures, I realized that it kinda looked like a big rock. So Kayleigh and I looked back at "the whale" and saw that it stayed in the same spot, so unfortunately I didn't see a whale this time.. But when we got to the next stop at Nobbies beach, we did manage to spot a seal in the water:). After Nobbies beach we drove to a town nearby where we had some dinner and then we went to the main attraction of the tour; the penguin parade:). On our way there though, we almost hit a wallaby that was trying to cross the road.. The penguin parade was amazing! We got super close to hundreds of penguins who just got out of the water, on their way back home.

Today we went back to the Queen Victoria Market, but when we arrived they were still busy getting ready. So we decided to go to the Federation square with the free tram. From there we walked to Hosier Lane, which has a lot of graffiti art. After we walked trough, we went to AC/DC Lane. Which had some graffiti as well. After we'd seen all of this, we went back to the Queen Victoria Market, where we bought some souvenirs. A couple of hours later, we still had a lot of time to kill before we had to be at the station for our shuttle bus to the airport. So we went to the Eureka Tower, where we got an amazing view over Melbourne. We also met some fellow Dutchies, who were here for a holiday. We went back to our hostel to get our bags and put all the souvenirs in. We then walked to the trams, so we could go to our shuttle bus. We were there in time, but our bus wasn't, but while we were in the bus, we saw that our flight had been delayed with fifteen minutes.. But once we got to the airport it had gotten up to twenty five minutes:( which would mean that I would probably miss my last train... But I didn't :), thankfully our baggage were one of the first ones on the luggage belt, so we ran to the trains.

I had an amazing weekend, but since I just got off the plane and I don't have my laptop with me, I will try to post the pictures I made in Melbourne tomorrow.

Cheers!

Reacties

Reacties

Marjolein

Waauuww!! Wat klinkt dat fantastisch!
Klinkt alsof je goed genoten heeft. En de foto's van Kayleigh zagen er tof uit! Ik kan echt niet wachten op jouw foto's!
Binnenkort maar weer even proberen te skypen :))
Lots of love!
Marjolein

Josine

Waauww wat gaaf!!
xxx

Marloes

Super gaaf!! Echt zo jaloers! We skypen snel!!

xxx loes

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!